One More Finance Get started

Cash advance in South Carolina: what the state allows and what it costs

By Ronnie Houk · Updated 2026-09-02

Short answer

South Carolina allows payday-style cash advances up to $550. The fee is 15% of face value of check ($15 per $100), terms run Max 31 days, and rollovers are limited (forbidden). A typical $300 advance costs $45 in fees — total repayment $345.

Source: South Carolina State Board of Financial Institutions — https://bofi.sc.gov · S.C. Code Ann. § 34-39-110 et seq.

South Carolina cash advance rules at a glance

StatusAllowed
Maximum amount$550
Maximum fee / rate15% of face value of check ($15 per $100)
TermMax 31 days
RolloversForbidden
Cooling-off / rescindNext business day by 5:00 PM
Typical APR391%
RegulatorSouth Carolina State Board of Financial Institutions

The math on a typical South Carolina loan

South Carolina sets the fee at 15% of face value of check ($15 per $100). On the state’s typical $300 advance that is $45 in fees, so you receive $255 in cash and repay $345 on due date. Annualized, that is roughly 391% — the number to compare against every alternative on this page.

How to get one in South Carolina

  1. Check the South Carolina rules below so you know the legal cost before you shop.
  2. Gather proof of income, a government ID and your bank account details.
  3. Compare a storefront lender, an online lender, and an app advance on total repayment — not just the headline fee.
  4. Borrow only what the next paycheck can absorb, and read the total-of-payments line before signing.

Lenders South Carolina borrowers compare

Facts from each lender’s own disclosures, verified September 2026. Inclusion is not a recommendation; availability in SC must be confirmed with the lender and the South Carolina State Board of Financial Institutions.
LenderProductAmountsPublished cost
OppLoans
Bank partner
Unsecured installment loans $500 – $5,000 Discloses a maximum APR of 195% for loans it originates and services; no origination or prepayment fees
NetCredit
Bank partner
Personal installment loans and lines of credit Loans up to $10,000 (6–60 months); lines of credit up to $4,500 APR varies by state and is disclosed before signing; no penalty for early payoff; reports to major credit bureaus
Rise
Bank partner
Online installment loans Not stated Site's own wording: "This is an expensive form of credit" — full pricing sits in its per-state Rates & Terms
Possible Finance
Hybrid
Possible Loan (app-based installment) and Possible Advance (paycheck advance) Loan: up to $500. Advance: up to $300 (first advances average $85; non-member max $150) Advance: no interest, late, rollover or tipping fees; Loan pricing per state sample schedules; payments reschedulable up to 29 days out at no fee
CashNetUSA
Mixed
Payday advances and installment loans — product mix varies by state Not stated Pricing is published on its per-state Rates & Terms page rather than as a single national figure

Prefer in person? The national storefront chains, what a licensed location may charge, and the license check: cash advance places.

Considering the tribal route? It repays over months instead of one payday, which helps budgets — but APRs commonly run 250%–700%. See which tribal lenders serve South Carolina (exclusion lists, published APRs) and the full tribal installment loans review.

What an advance costs in , amount by amount

Derived from ’s own worked example (a $300 loan carrying a $45 fee). Round figures in dollars.

AmountFee for the termTotal repaidAPR ballpark
$100$1,500$1,600391%
$255$3,825$4,080391%
$300$4,500$4,800391%
$500$7,500$8,000391%

Fee rate: 15% of face value of check ($15 per $100) · statute S.C. Code Ann. § 34-39-110 et seq.. Some states hand you the amount minus the fee; others fund the full amount — your contract controls.

Borrower scenarios in South Carolina

Composite scenarios built from typical situations and the cost math on this page — not quotes from named individuals.

Car repair

A commuter’s car fails a week before payday. The repair is not optional — without it, no work. An advance covers the shop bill today; the trade-off is repaying $115 — the $15 fee is the price of moving the repair two weeks earlier.

$100 advance in South Carolina · $15 fee

Compare that fee against the cost of missing work before signing.

Prescription pickup

An urgent prescription lands between paychecks, full price at the counter. A small advance gets the prescription the same day; the loan costs $38 and settles at $293 with the next check.

$255 advance in South Carolina · $38 fee

Small advances are where app-based options are usually cheaper than any loan.

Second-hand appliance

A refrigerator dies in summer. A used replacement is available today at a cash price. The advance buys the replacement now instead of rent-to-own; the $45 fee on a $345 repayment is a one-time cost against months of installments.

$300 advance in South Carolina · $45 fee

One-time fees compound slower than weekly rental contracts — compare totals.

If a lender crosses the line: complain

The South Carolina State Board of Financial Institutions enforces S.C. Code Ann. § 34-39-110 et seq.. If a lender charges above the cap, rolls a loan against the rules, or harasses you over collection, a complaint costs you nothing and feeds the enforcement file:

  1. Keep the contract, payment records and every message from the lender.
  2. File through the regulator’s site: https://bofi.sc.gov.
  3. Cite the statute (S.C. Code Ann. § 34-39-110 et seq.) and say exactly which rule was broken — specific complaints move faster.
  4. Copy the CFPB complaint portal; federal and state files talk to each other.

Four words that change the math

APR
Annual Percentage Rate — what the loan costs per year, expressed as a percentage of the amount borrowed. A two-week fee looks small; annualized, it is the number that reveals the true price.
Soft vs hard credit check
A soft check reviews your file without affecting your score; a hard check is a formal credit application that can move your score a few points. Most cash advance lenders use only soft checks or none.
Payday alternative loan (PAL)
A small-dollar loan from a federal credit union: $200–$2,000, terms of one to twelve months, APR capped at 28%. The cheapest licensed route in most states — if you can join the credit union.
Rollover
Paying a fee to push the due date back instead of repaying. Each rollover adds a full fee without reducing what you owe — the main way a two-week loan becomes a months-long debt.

Cities in South Carolina we cover

CharlestonColumbiaNorth CharlestonMount PleasantRock HillGreenvilleSummervilleGoose CreekSumterHilton Head IslandFlorenceSpartanburgMyrtle BeachAikenGreer

Neighboring states

North CarolinaGeorgiaFloridaVirginiaWest Virginia

Before you sign anything in South Carolina:

How much can a cash advance cost in South Carolina?

South Carolina caps payday-style advances at $550 with 15% of face value of check ($15 per $100). Terms run Max 31 days; rollovers: forbidden. Source: South Carolina State Board of Financial Institutions, S.C. Code Ann. § 34-39-110 et seq..

What do I need to qualify in South Carolina?

Standard requirements: 18 or older, verifiable income, an active checking account, and a government ID. Most lenders skip a hard credit check; approval depends on income rather than score.

Can South Carolina residents get same-day funding?

Storefront lenders pay cash on approval during business hours. Online lenders fund by ACH — next business day typically, same-day where an expedited transfer is offered. App advances with instant transfer can land in minutes.

What if a South Carolina lender charges more than the cap?

Report it. The South Carolina State Board of Financial Institutions enforces S.C. Code Ann. § 34-39-110 et seq.; unlicensed or over-cap lending is exactly what the agency exists to catch. Keep the contract and payment records.

Do tribal installment loans work in South Carolina?

Tribal lenders operate under tribal law and serve most states, with per-lender exclusion lists that change over time. They cost more than state-capped products but repay in installments. Compare total of payments before signing.

Request a cash advance for any of these needs

Urgent travel Book the trip now, repay from the next check — start with a free check.
Essentials in a short week Cover gas, groceries and transit today — request up to your available limit.
Emergency expenses Request the advance now, clear the bill today, repay from the next check.
Car repair Fund the repair today and get back to work — see your offer before the shop closes.
Medical and dental bills Cover the copay or prescription now — free to check, minutes to apply.
Utility bills Stop the disconnect today — request funds before the deadline hits.

The case for starting here

Ready to move? Request your cash advance now — free to check, no hard credit pull at this step.

Check what you could qualify for

Free check · South Carolina residents · no hard credit pull at this step.

Takes you to the application page · free to check · no hard credit pull at this step.
Apply now