One More Finance Get started

Cash advance in Delaware: what the state allows and what it costs

By Ronnie Houk · Updated 2026-08-25

Short answer

Delaware allows payday-style cash advances up to 1 loan at a time. The fee is no fee cap (set by contract), terms run Max 60 days, and rollovers are limited (max 4). A typical $300 advance costs $45 in fees — total repayment $345.

Source: Office of the State Bank Commissioner of Delaware — https://banking.delaware.gov · Del. Code tit. 5, § 2227 et seq.

Delaware cash advance rules at a glance

StatusAllowed
Maximum amount1 loan at a time
Maximum fee / rateNo fee cap (set by contract)
TermMax 60 days
RolloversMax 4
Cooling-off / rescindNext business day by 5:00 PM
Typical APR391% - 520%
RegulatorOffice of the State Bank Commissioner of Delaware

The math on a typical Delaware loan

Delaware sets the fee at no fee cap (set by contract). On the state’s typical $300 advance that is $45 in fees, so you receive $255 in cash and repay $345 on due date. Annualized, that is roughly 391% - 520% — the number to compare against every alternative on this page.

How to get one in Delaware

  1. Check the Delaware rules below so you know the legal cost before you shop.
  2. Gather proof of income, a government ID and your bank account details.
  3. Compare a storefront lender, an online lender, and an app advance on total repayment — not just the headline fee.
  4. Borrow only what the next paycheck can absorb, and read the total-of-payments line before signing.

Lenders Delaware borrowers compare

Facts from each lender’s own disclosures, verified September 2026. Inclusion is not a recommendation; availability in DE must be confirmed with the lender and the Office of the State Bank Commissioner of Delaware.
LenderProductAmountsPublished cost
OppLoans
Bank partner
Unsecured installment loans $500 – $5,000 Discloses a maximum APR of 195% for loans it originates and services; no origination or prepayment fees
NetCredit
Bank partner
Personal installment loans and lines of credit Loans up to $10,000 (6–60 months); lines of credit up to $4,500 APR varies by state and is disclosed before signing; no penalty for early payoff; reports to major credit bureaus
Rise
Bank partner
Online installment loans Not stated Site's own wording: "This is an expensive form of credit" — full pricing sits in its per-state Rates & Terms
Possible Finance
Hybrid
Possible Loan (app-based installment) and Possible Advance (paycheck advance) Loan: up to $500. Advance: up to $300 (first advances average $85; non-member max $150) Advance: no interest, late, rollover or tipping fees; Loan pricing per state sample schedules; payments reschedulable up to 29 days out at no fee
CashNetUSA
Mixed
Payday advances and installment loans — product mix varies by state Not stated Pricing is published on its per-state Rates & Terms page rather than as a single national figure

Prefer in person? The national storefront chains, what a licensed location may charge, and the license check: cash advance places.

Considering the tribal route? It repays over months instead of one payday, which helps budgets — but APRs commonly run 250%–700%. See which tribal lenders serve Delaware (exclusion lists, published APRs) and the full tribal installment loans review.

What an advance costs in , amount by amount

Derived from ’s own worked example (a $300 loan carrying a $45 fee). Round figures in dollars.

AmountFee for the termTotal repaidAPR ballpark
$100$1,500$1,600391% - 520%
$255$3,825$4,080391% - 520%
$300$4,500$4,800391% - 520%
$500$7,500$8,000391% - 520%

Fee rate: no fee cap (set by contract) · statute Del. Code tit. 5, § 2227 et seq.. Some states hand you the amount minus the fee; others fund the full amount — your contract controls.

Borrower scenarios in Delaware

Composite scenarios built from typical situations and the cost math on this page — not quotes from named individuals.

Car repair

A commuter’s car fails a week before payday. The repair is not optional — without it, no work. An advance covers the shop bill today; the trade-off is repaying $115 — the $15 fee is the price of moving the repair two weeks earlier.

$100 advance in Delaware · $15 fee

Compare that fee against the cost of missing work before signing.

Prescription pickup

An urgent prescription lands between paychecks, full price at the counter. A small advance gets the prescription the same day; the loan costs $38 and settles at $293 with the next check.

$255 advance in Delaware · $38 fee

Small advances are where app-based options are usually cheaper than any loan.

Second-hand appliance

A refrigerator dies in summer. A used replacement is available today at a cash price. The advance buys the replacement now instead of rent-to-own; the $45 fee on a $345 repayment is a one-time cost against months of installments.

$300 advance in Delaware · $45 fee

One-time fees compound slower than weekly rental contracts — compare totals.

If a lender crosses the line: complain

The Office of the State Bank Commissioner of Delaware enforces Del. Code tit. 5, § 2227 et seq.. If a lender charges above the cap, rolls a loan against the rules, or harasses you over collection, a complaint costs you nothing and feeds the enforcement file:

  1. Keep the contract, payment records and every message from the lender.
  2. File through the regulator’s site: https://banking.delaware.gov.
  3. Cite the statute (Del. Code tit. 5, § 2227 et seq.) and say exactly which rule was broken — specific complaints move faster.
  4. Copy the CFPB complaint portal; federal and state files talk to each other.

Read the fine print with these in hand

APR
Annual Percentage Rate — what the loan costs per year, expressed as a percentage of the amount borrowed. A two-week fee looks small; annualized, it is the number that reveals the true price.
Soft vs hard credit check
A soft check reviews your file without affecting your score; a hard check is a formal credit application that can move your score a few points. Most cash advance lenders use only soft checks or none.
Payday alternative loan (PAL)
A small-dollar loan from a federal credit union: $200–$2,000, terms of one to twelve months, APR capped at 28%. The cheapest licensed route in most states — if you can join the credit union.
Rollover
Paying a fee to push the due date back instead of repaying. Each rollover adds a full fee without reducing what you owe — the main way a two-week loan becomes a months-long debt.

Cities in Delaware we cover

WilmingtonDoverNewarkMiddletownBearGlasgowHockessinBrooksideSmyrnaMilfordPike Creek Valley

Neighboring states

MarylandDistrict of ColumbiaNew JerseyPennsylvaniaVirginia

Questions people in Delaware ask before applying:

How much can a cash advance cost in Delaware?

Delaware caps payday-style advances at 1 loan at a time with no fee cap (set by contract). Terms run Max 60 days; rollovers: max 4. Source: Office of the State Bank Commissioner of Delaware, Del. Code tit. 5, § 2227 et seq..

What do I need to qualify in Delaware?

Standard requirements: 18 or older, verifiable income, an active checking account, and a government ID. Most lenders skip a hard credit check; approval depends on income rather than score.

Can Delaware residents get same-day funding?

Storefront lenders pay cash on approval during business hours. Online lenders fund by ACH — next business day typically, same-day where an expedited transfer is offered. App advances with instant transfer can land in minutes.

What if a Delaware lender charges more than the cap?

Report it. The Office of the State Bank Commissioner of Delaware enforces Del. Code tit. 5, § 2227 et seq.; unlicensed or over-cap lending is exactly what the agency exists to catch. Keep the contract and payment records.

Do tribal installment loans work in Delaware?

Tribal lenders operate under tribal law and serve most states, with per-lender exclusion lists that change over time. They cost more than state-capped products but repay in installments. Compare total of payments before signing.

Get a cash advance for whatever the week throws at you

Utility bills Stop the disconnect today — request funds before the deadline hits.
Rent shortfall Close the rent gap now and skip the late fee — check your offer in two minutes.
Overdraft buyout Swap two $34 bank fees for one flat fee — request the advance today.
Urgent travel Book the trip now, repay from the next check — start with a free check.
Essentials in a short week Cover gas, groceries and transit today — request up to your available limit.
Emergency expenses Request the advance now, clear the bill today, repay from the next check.

What Delaware does differently

Ready to move? Request your cash advance now — free to check, no hard credit pull at this step.

Check what you could qualify for

Free check · Delaware residents · no hard credit pull at this step.

Takes you to the application page · free to check · no hard credit pull at this step.
Apply now